Affordable Car Insurance Auto Insurance in North Carolina - Compare Rates




There has been a welcome change in the insurance rates in North Carolina as premium ratesare 9% lower than what they were in 2010. So all of you thinking for autoinsurance, this is probably the best time to shop for.


The State follows a Tort system which determines who will pay for the damages. The person found at fault is held liable for the damages. At-fault drivers may also be sued for damages in court in case his insurance is insufficient to pay for the damages.

North Carolina State law requires minimum
>> Bodily Injury Liability limits of $30,000 per injured person up to a total of $60,000 per accident.
>> Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum limit of $25,000.
>> Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $30,000per person /$60,000per accident Limit.
>> Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 Limit.

This basic coverage is called as 30/60/25 coverage with 30/60 UM limits.

If you do not have the minimum insurancecoverage, your license could be suspended for up to 30 days. And afteryou serve your suspension, you will have to provide insurance proof and pay fine.

The State has Safe Driver Incentive Plan (or "SDIP") which has a points structure for convictions. So if you are convicted, higher premiums will be charged in accordance with your driving records. Hence drive safe it pays.

Get A Free Auto Insurance Quote for North Carolina Now!

Many have the misconception that the insurers fix premium rates according to the State laws, which is not true. As a smart consumer, you should shop for insurance and not rely on a single insurance company.

Your insurance rates dependon:
>> Driving record
>> Where you live
>> Type of automobile
>> Safety devices used in car
>> Credit history

You can also save a lot if you ask for discounts. Many insurers today offer great discounts in order to gain more customers. If you have been a safe driver whichmeans no driving tickets and accidents for atleast 3 years (generally it is 3years butyou should confirm with your insurance company), you can avail THE GOOD DRIVER DISCOUNT.

The young and teenagers (below 25 years of age) are considered to be risky drivers but if you are a full time student and maintain 3 .0 GPA or are on the Honor roll you can avail THE GOOD STUDENT DISCOUNT.

Not only for teenagers but many insurance companies offer discount to drivers of age 50 years or more under DISCOUNT FOR MATURE DRIVERS.

Also if you have spent money on safety and anti-theft devices, you can avail discounts on it.

After you get your insurance it is necessary thatyou provide proof of insurance to theDMV.You can give your policy number and the name of your insurance company or even the certificate of insurance.

So go and get yourself insured.remember Safety doesn't happen by accident you need to constantly work on that.

Top Auto Insurance Companies in North Carolina - We Are Associated With

Latest Articles


How Auto Insurance Works?
Auto insurance is the safety guard to auto and individual. This insurance offers financial support to the policy maker from any harmful effects of....

Comparing Auto Insurance Quotes
Checking for online auto insurance can be made without giving any commitment to the vendors. This gives better freedom to choose the right kind of...

Types of Auto Insurance Coverage
Even if the State doesn't make it compulsory for you to buy all types of insurance options, you should always decide your insurance policy...